Thursday, March 13, 2008

Bob Eaton Merges Two Biotech Associations in AZ

Former MdBio President, Bob Eaton, has succeeded in merging two competing biotech associations in Arizona! Great job, Bob!

PHOENIX - (Business Wire) The Arizona BioIndustry Association (AZBio) has restructured its operations, in order to better support the growth and success of its member companies and to unify, empower and advance the bioscience industry throughout Arizona. AZBio has integrated with the Bioindustry Organization of Southern Arizona (BIO-SA), and a new Board of Directors has been selected to lead the association.

"One of the key actions recommended in Arizona's Bioscience Roadmap is to strengthen the state's industry representation by creating a true statewide organization," said Saundra Johnson, executive vice president of the Flinn Foundation, which commissioned the 2002 Roadmap study by Battelle. "The new statewide structure for AZBio addresses this gap. It will help provide greater support and services for Arizona's bioscience companies and enable the state's industry to speak with a unified voice."

The new AZBio structure will allow the organization to balance its statewide programs and activities with a strong regional presence in the Tucson, Phoenix and Flagstaff areas. The association’s annual calendar will feature two major statewide anchor events, complemented by a variety of regional events throughout the year. AZBio’s public policy advocacy, business development and workforce development efforts will likewise have both statewide and regional components. The association’s annual conference, renamed BIOZONA 2008, will take place April 8 in Tucson.

The following individuals comprise AZBio’s new Board of Directors:

Rob Ashley, Ashley BioPharm, LLC, Tucson

David Cohen, Can-Am Pharmaceutical Services, LLC, Tucson

Michael Cusanovich, Arizona Research Labs, University of Arizona, Tucson

Gordon Goodyear, 3d Biosurfaces, Tucson

Saundra Johnson, The Flinn Foundation, Phoenix

Rob Kennedy, Apthera, Inc., Scottsdale

Edward Koeneman, Kinetic Muscles, Inc., Tempe

Loretta Mayer, Senestech, Inc., Flagstaff

Christine McAuliffe, Jennings Strouss & Salmon, Phoenix

Jon McGarity, InSys Therapeutics, Inc., Phoenix

Michael Mobley, Biodesign Institute at ASU, Tempe

Jacqueline Nicol, BioVigilant, Inc., Tucson

Nina Ossanna, BIO5 Institute, University of Arizona, Tucson

Thomas Rainey, Northern Arizona Center for Emerging Technologies, Flagstaff

Debbie Snyder, TGen Drug Development Services, Scottsdale

Diane Williamson, Earth Friendly Fuels, Inc., Flagstaff

The Arizona BioIndustry Association is a not-for-profit, 501 (c) (6) trade association that promotes the growth of the bioscience industry in Arizona through member services, educational programs, business networking, public policy and entrepreneurial endeavors. The staff includes Robert Eaton, who serves as the organization’s President & CEO, and Natascha Hebell Fernando, the Chief Operating Officer. AZBio is the state affiliate in Arizona for the Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO), the preeminent trade association for the biotechnology industry in the United States.

Arizona BioIndustry Association, Phoenix
Robert Eaton, 602-495-2937

No comments: